Did you know, that New Hampshire was the hub for skiing in the United States in the 1930's-1950's? Or, that the White Mountains is home to 28 historic covered bridges? Iconic poet, Robert Frost, had a home in Sugar Hill, and it is now operated as a museum. Come learn more about the fascinating, and rich history of the people and places of the White Mountains.
Covered bridges in the White Mountains are an integral part of the landscape and a place to wait out a summer shower or steal a kiss or watch raging river waters swollen by the melting winter snows.
The Loon Center features loon displays, mounts, interactive exhibits and award-winning videos on loons. The non-profit Loon's Feather Gift Shop sells "all things loon and more!" The 200-acre Markus Wildlife Sanctuary on the shores of Lake Winnipesaukee has two miles of walking trails that overlook a nesting pair of loons. Free Admission.
Generally open Wed.–Sat., 10 am-3 pm, early spring–late fall or by arrangement. Call for hours. Admission by donation. 1907 GTRR depot museum with town and railroad history. Model railroad in a boxcar,steam era exhibit, Baldwin steam engine, diesel locomotive, Russell snow- plow, caboose and other equipment on display.
We love New Hampshire. And we’ve been saving its history for nearly two centuries. Located in the heart of the capital city, the New Hampshire Historical Society’s exhibitions and programs highlight the state’s history, art, and culture. Discover the stories behind Granite State touchstones like John Stark’s famous quote, “Live Free or Die,” and view the Society’s renowned collection of 19th-century White Mountain art. Open year-round Tuesday through Saturday from 9:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Castle in the Clouds provides anywhere from one hour to a full day of enriching activities for all ages. It is home to Lucknow, an Arts and Crafts-style 16-room mansion built in the Ossipee Mountains in 1914. The 135-acre estate provides one of the most stunning views of New Hampshire’s largest lake, surrounding mountains, and over 5,500 acres of conserved land. Enjoy self-guided tours of the mansion and guided tours of its basement, learning about the mansion’s unique construction, ultra-modern appliances and technology for its era, ownership, and more about its century-long history. The on-site Carriage House offers dining in its highly-acclaimed restaurant, serving both classic comfort foods and unique twists on traditional fare in vintage horse stalls and amidst panoramic lakeside views on the terrace. You can also spend time walking or hiking along 28 miles of trail managed by the Lakes Region Conservation Trust, taking in the beauty and activity of the New Hampshire ecosystem while weaving along brooks and streams, exploring seven different waterfalls, and taking breaks at epic vistas. For those that prefer horseback, Riding in the Clouds offers trail rides, carriage rides, and pony rides. Or, attend one of the many programs, events, and activities available for all interests, including live music, guided hikes, stargazing nights, behind-the-scenes tours, and more. While in New Hampshire, visit Castle in the Clouds to connect with history, nature, and the beauty of the Granite State! (Autumn drone photo credit: Russ Schundler)
The only blast furnace still standing in New Hampshire. It can be viewed anytime across the Gale River. A scale model and exhibits are viewable in the Interpretive Center anytime.
The museum reflects the everyday life of past years with lots of photos, displays of logging, hotels and inns and personal memorabilia of folks who lived in this river valley from the 1890's to present.
Open Thursday-Saturday 11 am - 4 pm. In Visitors Center, changing exhibits showcase the extensive collection of grand hotel and cottage memorabilia and photographs.
Browse through fully furnished 1878 New England farmhouse and view our special exhibits. Open Saturday 1-4 pm, Memorial Day thru last weekend in October; other times by appointment.
The Eastman Lord House/Museum is open Memorial Day to Labor Day. Wednesday 2-4pm and Saturday 1-4pm. Appointments may be made anytime between May 1st and October 31. 12 period rooms in styles ranging from 1820-1945, research materials available, open by appointment during May and September.
A rural history museum and working farm, with outbuildings, gardens and walking trails. Blend the past with the present to explore over 200 years of rural living, including the rich history of two country doctors and their home. Open year-round with seasonal learning, family-friendly hands-on activities, farm animals and special events. $5 admission, 4 & under, FREE.
The Frost Place is beloved poet, Robert Frost's, former home converted into a house-museum. A visit includes a tour of the house, a Poetry Trail walk, informational video, and a stunning view from Frost's former front porch looking out onto the Franconia Ridge and Notch.
Engage in the White Mountains' past, present, and future. Come explore the region's artistic, historical, geographic, and cultural treasures through multiple exhibits, activities, and events throughout the year.
The Littleton Area Historical Society is now located in the basement of the Historic Opera House/Town Building. The Museum is now open on Wednesdays: 10 am till 2 pm, Saturdays: Noon to 3:00 pm, or by appointment. After several years in storage, the artifacts have been invitingly arranged to showcase the unique history of the Littleton area. All are encouraged to visit and admire the displays from such parts of history as the Saranac Glove Company, Norton Pike abrasives factory, war memorabilia, toys from the past, and so much more. Richard Alberini, Museum Curator, and his staff of volunteers spent many hours creating a delightful experience for all to enjoy. Entrance to the Museum is through the Town Building entrances, and signs are posted directing visitors to the Museum itself. Admission is free, donations are welcome, and the visit is sure to please young and old alike.
Visit Enfield Shaker Museum, home of the largest Shaker dwelling house ever built: The Great Stone Dwelling. Also featuring nine building in various stages of restoration, the Feast Ground on Mt. Assurance, gardens, cemeteries, and miles of hiking trails.
Both branches showcase exhibits on ski pioneers, New England Olympians, the 10th Mountain Division, Tuckerman Ravine, classic skis, lost ski areas, local legends and more. Changing exhibits, free admission, unique gift shops. 135 Tramway Drive, Franconia, NH 03580-4403 603-823-7177 2628 White Mountain Highway, North Conway, NH 03860-1673 603-730-5044 newenglandskimuseum.org
Housed in an 1868 church building on the edge of the Waumbek Golf Course. The historical society meets on the 2nd Wednesday of each month at the museum. Museum Hours: Thursday and Sunday from 1-4pm, June-Columbus Day.
On the National Register of Historic Places, The Brick Store is the Oldest Continuously Operated General Store in the United States. What makes this place so unique is the rich history held within the walls. It has been in business since the early 1790’s and previously served as a post office for the town of Bath until 1942. The store is a gathering place for locals and a popular presidential campaign stop. Come in, have a look around, and stay for a sandwich, homemade fudge, smoked meats and cheese, or grind your own peanut or nut butter! Purchase your maple syrup and other NH products and souvenirs, and enjoy a cup of coffee while being immersed in the history that surrounds you. Our friendly, warm staff are waiting to greet you.
Displays of historic memorabilia and photos relative to the care, repair and promotion of the state's official symbol. Open daily end of May to late October. Admission is free.
On the summit of Mt. Prospect in Lancaster is the summer estate of John Wingate Weeks, the U.S. Congressman who led the charge to establish the Weeks Act of 1911 to create our National Forest system. The hiking trails provide year-round activity for all ages and the first Scenic & Cultural Byway in our state leads to a spectacular view from the summit.